Google Cloud Google Cloud creates long-term free cloud servers

How to apply for long-term free cloud server with Google Cloud

Many people abandon their accounts after applying for a Google Cloud trial. Little do they know that there is a permanently free cloud server hidden in the Google Cloud account. Although the configuration is not high, it is enough to be used as a backup server. The traffic is 200G per month, which is higher than AWS’s 100G bandwidth, and Google Cloud’s free servers are theoretically free forever.

Free cloud server introduction

Google GCP provides Free Tier services to all active Cloud Billing users. For detailed free content, please see its official documentation (Click to go). There are only two requirements for the free policy:

① The account is in the free trial period or after upgrade (Google will suspend the account when the trial expires)
② The account has not been suspended due to non-payment of fees

The free cloud server is onee2-microExample, optional Western Oregonus-west1/Central Iowaus-central1/Southeast Carolina, USAus-east1,30GStandard persistent disk, and 200G traffic per month.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-1

In September 2023, Google announced on its blog thatStandard layer network(That is, a network that is directly connected through the local ISP in the computer room without optimization of the Google backbone network)200G/regionof free traffic (Click to go).

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-2

Google GCP's billing documentation has been updated with relevant content (Click to goA free quota prompt has been added next to the standard tier option during the instance. You can rest assured that it can be used for free within the 200G range. The original text of the controversial "not applicable" in the billing document is "Always Free usage limits do not apply to Standard Tier.", which means that the free 1G traffic in Free Tier does not apply to the standard tier, that is, the pricing of the standard tier is based on Fee documentation shall prevail.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-3


2. Create an instance

To start using Google Free Tier, you mostly need to bind a foreign currency debit card and activate the payment. The cloud service itself is relatively expensive, and you may be deducted a lot of fees if you are not careful. Based on Google's policy, the following is an example of the correct boot process. First, select [Compute Engine] - [Virtual Machine Instance] - [Create Instance] to enter the new cloud server page.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-4

Region Select Oregonus-west1/Iowaus-central1/South Carolinaus-east1One of the three, we recommend Western Oregonus-west1, the geographical location is relatively close to Asia Pacific.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-5

Select the instance model [E2 Series], [Shared Core], [e2-micro】Instance, that is, an instance with 1 shared core (2vCPU/thread) and 1GB memory.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-6

Next, open the startup disk section, click [Change], select the appropriate operating system (it is recommended to choose a common free Linux distribution to avoid paying points), change the startup disk type to [Standard Permanent Disk], and the maximum size can be set to 30GB.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-7

Release [Advanced Options] - [Network] below in turn, pull down the default network interface in the network interface to modify it, and select [Standard] in the [Network Service Level] below. This option will prompt a free quota of 200G. There is no IPv6 support under the standard network, and it is not recommended to set the IPv4 address to static. The static IP address will incur charges in the unattached state after deleting the VM.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-8

At this point, click Create to open it. For expense information, it is recommended to enter [Billing]-[Report], change the [Group By] on the right to [SKU] and then download.csvCheck the fee details. There will be no positive fee records in the fee table within the Free Tier quota. It is normal for fees and discounts to be offset. Occasionally, some accounts will incorrectly display negative fees. Among them, Networking-related billing comes from Network Intelligence Center, and the official explanation is that it is a future billing item that does not yet provide disabling functions (Click to go), the 100% discount will remain in place until default shutdown is provided in the future. Post a blogger’s accounting sheet for the past two days, with comments on specific projects added for everyone’s reference and verification (click to download).

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-9

After the cloud server is successfully established, the firewall needs to be entered from [VPC Network]. After using the VPC network, click [Firewall] - [Add Firewall Rule] to set it up. If you don’t know how to set it up, you can enter the name, confirm that the log is disabled, select the traffic direction (one for inbound and outbound), target all instances in the network, and source IPv4 range.0.0.0.0/0As well as allowing all protocols and ports, this operation can clear all firewalls. SSH settings can be clicked on SSH connection from the console, throughsudo -iElevate privileges and then edit/etc/ssh/sshd_configWillPasswordAuthenticationandPermitRootLoginitems are set toyes, and then passservice ssh restartRestart the ssh service, and then passpasswdSet the ssh password, and then you can connect as root through any ssh tool. This part is not the focus, so I won’t go into details here.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-10


3. Brief review of the Internet

Without Google's backbone, the standard ISP network is not friendly to the mainland. Taking us-west1 in Oregon, which is the closest geographically, as an example, the three outbound networks are interconnected through public networks such as Level3 and Telia. The return journey is directly connected to China from CMI in Los Angeles, and China Telecom and China Unicom return to China through Verizon's public network.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-11

The latency and speed at the network level are very average, and are no different from cheaper VPSs such as DigitalOcean, Vultr, etc., so there is no need to come here for the network. Google's traffic is only counted in the upstream direction. It is enough to use CloudFlare to build a small website or run some lightly loaded services. In addition, the current standard layer network does not provide IPv6 addresses, so there is no need to try to create a dual-stack VPC separately.

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-12


4. Conclusion

It is worthwhile to make reasonable use of Google's free resources. After all, major manufacturers have good reliability guarantees. But the limitations are always very strong. If you don’t need bloggers so much, it is recommended not to join in the fun casually, be careful of being caught by Google accidentally. The blogger just discovered that the Key Management Service will be charged starting from 2023, and $0.06 will be deducted every month. In actual use, you still need to be more cautious and pay more attention to your bills to avoid things like losing your house overnight.

score

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器

谷歌云如何申请长期免费云服务器

很多人在申请完谷歌云试用之后,就将账号抛弃了,殊不知在谷歌云的账户里还隐藏着一个永久免费的云服务器,虽然配置不高,但是足够当作备用服务器使用了,流量每个月200G,要高于AWS的100G带宽,且谷歌云的免费服务器理论上来说是永久免费的。

免费云服务器介绍

Google GCP向所有Cloud Billing活跃的用户均提供Free Tier服务,详细的免费内容见其官方文档(点击前往)。免费政策的要求仅有以下两条:

① 账户处于免费试用期或升级后(Google试用到期会暂停账户)
② 账户没有因欠费而被暂停使用

免费的云服务器是一台e2-micro实例,可选美西俄勒冈us-west1/美中爱荷华us-central1/美东南卡罗莱纳us-east1,30G标准永久性磁盘,以及每月200G流量。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-1

2023年9月,Google在博客宣布为标准层网络(即不经Google骨干网优化,直接通过机房本地ISP联网的网络)提供200G/地域的免费流量(点击前往)。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-2

Google GCP的计费文档已对相关内容进行了更新(点击前往),在创建虚拟机实例时标准层的选项旁也已添加免费额度的提示,可以放心在200G范围内免费使用。计费文档中存在争议的“不适用”的原文是“Always Free usage limits do not apply to Standard Tier.”,意思是Free Tier中免费的1G流量不适用于标准层,也就是标准层的定价以费用文档为准。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-3


二、创建实例

开始使用Google Free Tier大多需要绑定外币借记卡并激活付费,云服务本身价格较高,稍有不慎就可能被扣不少费用。基于Google的政策,以下是一个正确开机流程的示例。首先选择【Compute Engine】 – 【虚拟机实例】 – 【创建实例】进入新建云服务器页面。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-4

区域选择俄勒冈us-west1/爱荷华us-central1/南卡罗莱纳us-east1三者之一,推荐美西俄勒冈us-west1,地理位置离亚太相对较近。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-5

实例型号选择【E2系列】、【共享核心】、【e2-micro】实例,即1个共享核心(2vCPU/线程)、1GB内存的实例。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-6

接下来打启动磁盘部分,点击【更改】,选择合适的操作系统(建议选择常见的免费Linux发行版,避开付费点),启动磁盘类型更改为【标准永久性磁盘】,大小最大可设置为30GB。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-7

依次释放开下方的【高级选项】-【网络】,在网络接口中下拉默认的网络接口进行修改,在下方【网络服务层级】选择【标准】,该选项会提示有200G的免费额度。标准网络下没有IPv6支持,同时也不建议将IPv4地址设置为静态,静态IP地址在删除VM后的未附加状态会产生费用。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-8

至此点击创建即可开启,费用情况推荐进入【结算】-【报告】,将右侧【分组依据】改为【SKU】后下载.csv的费用明细进行查看。Free Tier额度内是不会在费用表中产生为正的费用记录的,费用和折扣抵消是正常的情况,偶尔也有部分账号会错误显示为负费用。其中Networking相关的计费来自Network Intelligence Center,官方解释为一个暂未提供禁用功能的未来计费项(点击前往),在未来提供默认关闭之前会保持100%折扣。贴一个博主这两天的记账单,里面添加了对具体项目的注释,供大家参考核对(点击下载)。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-9

云服务器建立成功后,防火墙需要从【VPC网络】中进入在使用VPC网络后点击【防火墙】-【添加防火墙规则】进行设置。不知道如何设置可以依次输入名称、确认日志停用、选择流量方向(进出站各一条)、目标为网络中所有实例、来源IPv4范围0.0.0.0/0以及协议和端口全部允许,这样操作可以将防火墙全部放通。SSH设置可从控制台点击SSH连接,通过sudo -i进行提权,然后编辑/etc/ssh/sshd_configPasswordAuthenticationPermitRootLogin项均设置为yes,而后通过service ssh restart重启ssh服务,再通过passwd设置ssh密码,之后便可自行通过任意ssh工具以root身份进行连接。这一部分不是重点,在此便不做过多赘述。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-10


三、网络简评

没有Google骨干最长优化到香港回国,标准层ISP网络对大陆不算友好。以地理位置最近的俄勒冈us-west1为例,去程三网都是通过Level3、Telia这样的公共网络进行互联的,回程移动从洛杉矶CMI直连回国,电信联通则通过Verizon的公共网络回国。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-11

网络层面延迟和速度都很一般,和比较便宜的VPS比如DigitalOcean、Vultr等是没什么差别的,所以如果为了网络而来就没有必要了。Google的流量均只计上行,套个CloudFlare做个小网站或者放一些轻负载的服务还是很够用的。另外,目前标准层的网络是不提供IPv6地址的,没必要尝试去单独创建一个双栈的VPC。

Google Cloud 谷歌云创建长期免费云服务器-12


四、结语

Google的免费资源合理利用起来还是很值得的,毕竟大厂有很好的可靠性保证。但是总归局限性很强,要是没那么需要博主还是建议不要随便凑热闹了,当心一不小心被Google反薅一把。博主这几天就是上号才发现从2023年开始Key Management Service收费了,每个月都扣了$0.06。实际使用中还是要多一些谨慎,适当多关注账单,避免那些一夜之间房子没了的事情发生。

评分

留下评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注